Tuesday, 19 January 2016

Books I recently added to my Goodreads shelf | Top Ten Tuesday


Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Top Ten Books I've Recently Added To My TBR. For me it will be the ones I added recently to my 'to read' shelf on Goodreads, because if we talk about my TBR pile... It'll be the same list than last week, haha. 

1. Curio by Evangeline Denmark (pub. 01/05/16) : it's a debut novel with fantasy and steampunk elements. I actually heard about this one on BookTube, and the synopsis makes me eager to read it! It involves Alchemists, so it's pretty cool.

2. The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow (pub. 01/26/16) : I haven't read anything by this author yet, it could be a good place to start. It's a paranormal novel that involves not only witches, but also Greek mythology, it makes me really curious, because I'm wondering how the author will link everything.

3. The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie (pub. 08/02/16) : Another debut novel that sounds interesing. It involves sea monsters and pirates, which means it's right up my alley. Moreover, it's a short book (288 pages) which means I should fly through it!

4. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones (pub. 09/13/16) : This book is a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Do you need more? I don't. It also involves goblins so yes, that could be great! I have a thing for that kind of creatures since I came to love trolls thanks to The Malediction Trilogy. Oh, and it's also a debut novel. I'm excited for so many debut novels this year, it's crazy.

5. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge (pub. 09/27/16) : If you've been reading my blog since June, you'll be like: "But Lucie, you didn't even like her two first books!". Well, I know. But she built interesting worlds, so I'm giving her another chance (it's the third one, if I don't like this I'm done). Moreover, I think it's a retelling of Romeo and Juliet and I've never read one of those so call me... intrigued

6. Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige (pub. 09/27/16) : Same situation than the previous book, actually. But I feel like I'm only giving this author a second chance, because the two books of hers that I read were in the same series so... I want to read her in another context. And there was an interesing idea behind Dorothy Must Die, I was just conflicted about everything. This one is a Snow White retelling with our main character in a mental hospital at the beginning (THAT could be interesting) and goes back to her kingdom and blah blah blah. It actually reminds me of Once Upon a Time in Wonderland, the beginning was similar.

7. Fallen Isles Book 1 by Jodi Meadows (pub. Fall 2017) : Well, it's the first 2017 release I added to my Goodreads TBR, because I don't want to forget about it, it sounds so great. It's a fantasy with a girl who has been imprisonned, and it involves dragon trafficking. Like: what? I need this book. But I'll be able to wait if I'm given The Mirror King by this author. Also, I know it'll have a gorgeous cover, because all of Meadows' books have one.

8. Nemesis by Anna Banks (pub. 10/04/16) : If you don't know this by now... I feel like every time I see a high fantasy, I have to add it to my "to read" shelf. It's getting out of hand. I haven't read this author mermaids' trilogy but this one is about a girl who has the power to create energy and escapes her father because he wants to use her... Like the whole world. It sounds great.

9. Caraval by Stephanie Garber (pub. 09/20/16) : "perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles and The Night Circus". Me: Okay, I'm in. So, it's about a girl who dreams to see the annual performance of "Caraval", but she has always been stuck on her island and her father wants to marry her off. Of course, she escapes, but as soon as she arrives... She is kidnapped by Legend, the mastermind behind Caraval. Only her sister can save her. This book sounds mysterious and creepy.

10. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter (pub. 09/20/16) : This book is inspired by a Russian folktale. A RUSSIAN FOLKTALE? That's all I need to know, really. It reminds me a little of Cinderella, because of an evil stepfamily, but it also involves magic and a curse.

Now that I finished writing this post, I feel like I just recaped books I didn't hear a lot about yet that are published this Fall, hahaha.

Have you heard about any of these books? Which books have you recently added to your TBR pile or your 'to read' shelf on Goodreads?

10 comments:

  1. Lots of books I have never heard of. I added Wintersong to my wishlist - it sounds so good. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I think I already added all the popular books to my 'to read' shelf, so those ones aren't talked about often. I totally agree with you, Wintersong sounds amazing, I hope it'll live up to that :)

      Delete
  2. Great list! Way too many great books coming out this year :)

    My TTT.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Interesting list. Admittedly I haven't heard of any of these books, or authors as far as I can remember.
    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should check them out on Goodreads :)

      Delete
  4. I have Caraval and Fallen Isles on my list too but I added so many of the others you listed to my GR. Wintersong sounds especially intriguing (I'm a sucker for Beauty and the Beast EVERYTHING). I already read The Prophecy of Shadows and reviewed it on my blog. It was a pretty okay first book but it read more like middle grade to me and I kept making Percy Jackson comparisons. I am interested in continuing the series once more are released though!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for telling me about The Prophecy of Shadows! Now I'm warned so I know what to expect ;) Was it that similar to Percy Jackson? I'm happy you found some new books thanks to me, haha. There are so many amazing books coming out this year, I can't wait to read them all!

      Delete
  5. I love the Night Cirus so I have to add Caraval to my list, also a big fan of Beauty and the Beast so I have a few adaptations to get through. Happy reading!

    Sundays and Ink | http://sundaysandink.blogspot.com.au

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't wait to read early reviews for Caraval, because I'm definitely intrigued! Fairy Tales retellings have been a trend lately, not that I'm complaining... Especially when it means books like A Court of Thorns and Roses ;)

      Delete